New Adelaide Becket tale out today. Brace yourself for this one.

I’ve already had emails from street team members about The Indecent Agent, saying, generally, “I can’t believe you did that!!”

And while I can’t go into detail here about what “that” is, I can say that yes, I did have to do what I did.

The events in The Indecent Agent were scripted from before I wrote the first book in the series, The Requisite Courage

When I released The Requisite Courage, I mentioned that the themes and stories didn’t quite fit into the romance genre.  Primarily that was because there were not relationships forming, with happy endings at the end of every book.  That meant I had to categorize the series as merely historical suspense, not historical romantic suspense.

But over the course of the series, Adele’s story is wildly romantic. 

In the fashion of all good romances, there are bumps and barriers on the road to true love.  And the events in The Indecent Agent are mighty ones.

The story is the seventh in the series and represents a turning point in Adele’s life.  War is drawing nearer with every book, and the enemies she hunts are growing ruthless.

There are more regular characters in the series now, whose stories must be told, too.  And more storylines to include.

That is why the next book in the series will be a full novel, not a novelette.

Eventually, somewhere down the line, I will package up the first seven novelettes into a single volume.  But for today, enjoy the release of the seventh story in the Adelaide Becket series.

Trouble reaches out to Lady Adelaide from across the oceans.

Lady Adelaide Azalea Margaret de Morville, Mrs. Hugh Becket, English peer and British intelligence agent, receives an unexpected letter from her dear friend Isa Hass in the Cape Colony, which sends her dashing to Cape Town to confirm her suspicions about Isa and the death of Adele’s husband, three years ago.

Spy master William Melville insists that Daniel Bannister, Lord Leighton, accompany her.  Adele complies, even though she resents Leighton’s company, for their nascent relationship ran aground some weeks before.

Adele’s return to Cape Town elicits memories both bitter and sweet, and unlocks the secrets surrounding her friend Isa, provoking a violent and deadly response from the shadowy figures who resent that exposure…

The Adelaide Becket series.
1: The Requisite Courage
2: The Rosewater Debutante
3: The Unaccompanied Widow
4: The Lavender Semaphore
5: The Broadcloth Midnight
6: The Salinghall Error
7: The Indecent Agent
…and more to come.
An Edwardian Suspense Espionage series


Scroll to Top