Lady Adelaide, all in one volume

Can I tell you something awkward?

I’m not a fan of boxed sets.  Oh, I don’t mind the price.  If it’s a series I’m sucked into, getting all the books in the series at a discount is a great deal.

I just hate reading the boxed set all in one big file. 

The geek in me gets frazzled because the progress bar never seems to move, and you can’t tell how far through this book you are. 

And if I want to go back to the front matter, or on to the end matter (to check out what else the author has written), it can be a real pain trying to get back to where I left off reading.

Plus, quite often the boxed set cover isn’t very pretty at all, while the individual covers for the books are marvellous.  So I miss out on the individual covers, when I buy the boxed set and have the ugly cover displaying on my reader, instead.

Grump, grump.  Yeah, I’m that nerdy, sorry.  🙂

So it took me a long while to realize that most readers love and adore boxed sets.  Just call me thick and hit me with a hammer.  Eventually, I get it.

 You’ve told me via emails and messages that you like boxed sets because (a) the price, (b) you don’t have to go searching for the individual books, (c) related to the previous point, you don’t have to find out what those individual books are, and in what order they should be read, because they just follow along behind each other. (d) you also don’t have to find the side stories, if the author has included them in the set (I do). And best of all, (e)  boxed sets are made for binge reading.  Finish the last book, flip the page and settle into the next one.

So I’ve been putting out a lot of boxed sets lately.  (And, while I’m confessing, putting out boxed sets also means I’m releasing something, as my writing has suffered greatly while I deal with my cancer.)

Today’s release is one that I’ve personally been looking forward to.  It’s the first seven stories in the Adelaide Becket historical suspense series.

I know some of you aren’t really thrilled about shorter reads like novellas and novelettes and that you avoid short stories altogether.  As the first seven stories in the Adelaide Becket series are all novelettes, you might have been ducking reading them.

Put altogether into a boxed set, though, the novelettes collectively present an on-going story that is 74,000 words long.  That’s a hefty novel’s worth.

There will be more stories in the Adelaide Becket series, but they will be novel length, as the series has grown too complicated to contain stories to a mere novelette length.

So this boxed set is a great, lengthy introduction to the ongoing series.

The first seven Lady Adelaide stories in one volume.

As Europe draws toward war, an extraordinary woman steps into the arena. In Edwardian England, Lady Adelaide Azalea Margaret de Morville, Mrs. Hugh Becket, lately of the Cape Colony, was born the daughter of an Earl, but is now the widow of a commoner. She straddles two worlds, speaks fluent German, and can ride, hunt and shoot. Her talents draws the eye of spymaster William Melville, who recruits her to help him fight a shadow game with German agents both at home and aboard, as Europe heads toward an inevitable conflict…

A Historical Suspense Espionage Omnibus

The Adelaide Becket series.
1: The Requisite Courage
2: The Rosewater Debutante
3: The Unaccompanied Widow
4: The Lavender Semaphore
5: The Broadcloth Midnight
6: The Salinghall Error
7: The Indecent Agent
7.5: Adelaide Becket’s Adventures
…and more to come.
An Edwardian Suspense Espionage series

{Also see: Thrillers, Espionage, Historical, Novelettes}

As usual, if you buy directly from me at my Stories Rule Press bookstore, you can finagle a discount; 

1)  If you’ve never bought a book from SRP, you can find a 10% off discount coupon code on the front page of the site. 

2)  If you’re a repeat customer (hello!  And thank you!), then you can use your reward points to earn a discount on the title.

Buy from Me @ SRP!

Scroll to Top