A Heroine’s Journey

There’s something satisfying about a story that ends up back where it started, and you get to see how everything has actually changed as a result of the story itself.

One of my favourite parts of Lord of the Rings is when all the hobbits return to the Shire. I love seeing how different they are, how much they startle the locals, and how much they have changed.

There are entire chapters devoted to that return home in The Return of the King. The movie, alas, takes only a few minutes to wrap everything up.

But it’s still great to watch.

It’s not a type of story you can really get to see much in romances. They’re usually not epic enough to justify a “hero’s journey” — although I got very close to it in The Branded Rose Prophecy.

In the Scandalous Scions series, I have managed to arrange something similar. I’ve used the entire series to give the epic scale needed to bring everything back to the beginning.

The beginning, in this case, was the backstory behind Lilly and Jasper’s romance in the second book of the series, Valor of Love. That backstory and the secrets it revealed drove the entire first half of the series.

Now we’ve come full circle. The second last book in the series features Emma, the youngest of this generation of the great family…and I can’t say anything else, because it will spoil the earlier books. But if you know the series, you know Emma’s history, too, and how the story has truly come full circle.

Year of Folly is Emma’s story. The book follows her as she learned about herself and her history…and learns to love at the same time.

All Emma wants is to belong…

Emma, the youngest daughter of the great family, cannot find acceptance among the peers of society despite four Seasons of pleasing everyone.She is banished to Inverness to avoid any scandal her anger might cause.Even in Inverness, she is an outsider, for her cousins, including staid and boring Morgan Davies, spend all their days working and thinking, for heaven’s sake!

Having survived years of the family’s disasters, Morgan likes his quiet life and routine.Emma’s excesses and plain speaking disrupt his days.When Emma discovers politics and adopts as her cause women’s suffrage, the most outrageous scandal the family has yet to produce threatens to turn Morgan’s world inside out…

This book is the twelfth in the Scandalous Scions series, bringing together the members of three great families, to love and play under the gaze of the Victorian era’s moralistic, straight-laced society.

This story is part of the Scandalous Scions series:
0.5 Rose of Ebony
1.0 Soul of Sin
2.0 Valor of Love
3.0 Marriage of Lies
4.0 Mask of Nobility
5.0 Law of Attraction
6.0 Veil of Honor
7.0 Season of Denial
8.0 Rules of Engagement
9.0 Degree of Solitude
10.0 Ashes of Pride
11.0 Risk of Ruin

12.0 Year of Folly
13.0 Queen of Hearts

A Sexy Historical Romance

Praise for the Scandalous Scions series:

If you haven’t started this series, start right now and you will fall in love with this very unconventional family during a time when rules, etiquette and unwritten rules had to be followed or the lack of them would bring scandal and ruin to an entire family.

I love these books. Tracy creates these characters so well and with such care. I really recommend reading this series.

I am overwhelmed by how much I have enjoyed this series so far. It was not superficial fluff as I thought it might be when I began. Cooper-Posey books have touched on so many universal themes.

Her characters are admirable people who love their family and are capable of deep romantic love as well.

I just love this series and the books just keep getting better and better. This series takes us on a romp through historical times, which I love.

If you haven’t read this magnificent series you must do so now; you will love each story, be moved by each of them, fall in love with the heroines and heroes, you will cheer for them and just as loudly boo the villains.

Love this series and have bought them all.

This entire series is filled with so much love for each other and family, that there is no way you cannot be emotionally drawn into each story.

You can buy YEAR OF FOLLY directly from me,
or from your favourite bookseller.


Take my stories on a test run.  4 full novels free.  Sign up below.

[More details here]

Scroll to Top